Truth Lies and Character

Embrace the truth, reject lies and edify character as an excellent virtue.

Veteran Business and Benefits

Posted by James Jett on January 8, 2007


Service and Business:

While reading about the types of programs that is available to qualified Veterans, it seem that every thing have been consider; and all unmet-needs can be cared for in benefits, businesses and burial. Personnel is in place to support the Veteran in any effort to improve the chances for a good life in this country. This give me hope as I continue my efforts to get the benefits I need and qualify for because of my military service.

My hope turn to sadness when I consider the number of Veterans I encounter in my daily life that have not benefited from the many programs that exist to improve his or her life. Yet, many die and the family must seek aid to bury them. Children are left without food and a place to live. One would think, some one would apply for a grave site in a veteran cemetery; and contact the local veteran office for any aid that is available to the wife and the children. All veterans should reports to the local VA office immediately after discharge, to determine the benefits and services available to them. Its not a gift!—you earned it!

At this point in my life, I need to apply for those benefits and services that will have a positive inpact on my life while I am living and make life easy for my wife when I die. This is what I will be working on for the next year. First I will seek a place to be interred. The grave site will have to accommodate both me and my wife. In the future, if I opt to be buried else where, my wife can still be buried in a VA national cemetery. Call this Phone number: (1-800-827-1000) to confirm your eligibility for burial and benefits or click on Veterans Affairs in the Blogroll to visit the Site.

Business:

Now I need to walk and talk at the same time: “The Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) was established in the Department of veterans Affairs (VA) to assist and support the interest of small business.” I need to apply for any and all benefits and services they can provide me, to enable my efforts to sell produces and services to the Cities, Counties, States and Federal Governments. The list of products on the site will help me find companies that I can buy from and sell to the varies government agents. Information I need to complete my plan can be obtained by contacting the Director, Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) Department. of Veterans Affairs. “This office is available only for the purpose of providing information , counseling, and guidance”. this is the information I need to put a plan in place that I can use to apply for contracts and Subcontracts to do business with the Federal Government. Click on OSDBU in Blogroll to visit the Site.

2 Responses to “Veteran Business and Benefits”

  1. Ken Larson said

    There are many good points in your article. I would like to supplement them with some information.

    For an all-volunteer site, dedicated to small businesses who wish to succeed in federal government contracting, please see the below site:

    http://www.smalltofeds.blogspot.com/

    The federal government will contract in excess of $80B to small businesses in the next fiscal year.

    There are over 50 agencies or “Departments” in the federal government. Each of these agencies has a statutory obligation to contract from small business for over 20% of everything it buys.

    Contracting officers must file reports annually demonstrating they have fulfilled this requirement. Not fulfilling the requirement can put agency annual funding in jeopardy. Small business has a motivated customer in federal government contracting officers and buyers.

    Large business, under federal procurement law, must prepare and submit annual “Small Business Contracting Plans” for approval by the local Defense Contract Management Area Office (DCMAO) nearest their headquarters. These plans must include auditable statistics regarding the previous 12 month period in terms of contracting to small businesses and the goals forecast for the next year.

    The federal government can legally terminate a contract in a large business for not meeting small business contracting goals. Approved small business plans must accompany large business contract proposals submitted to federal government agencies. Small businesses have motivated customers in large business subcontract managers, administrators and buyers.

    There are set-aside opportunities available for small entities,veterans, disabled veterans, women and minorities. All it takes is navigating the system, persistance, asking questions, registering, marketing, teaming and working hard.

    Small Business America is good at that.

  2. mopspops said

    Ken, I am James Jett , commenting on your comment on my Blog, after visiting your Blog. I am impressed with the beneficial information you provide. I included your Blog in my Blogroll and urged my visitors to visit your Site and read the information as I am doing each day.

Leave a Reply

 
