Truth Lies and Character

Embrace the truth, reject lies and edify character as an excellent virtue.

President Unit Citation (Korea)

Posted by James Jett on May 8, 2007


Presidential Unit Citation (Korea)

Presidential Unit Citation (Korea).svg

“The Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation issued by, the government of South Korea to both Korean military and foreign units. The last major issuance of the decoration was during the Korean War the decoration bestowed to several U.S., UK and Commonwealth military units. By order of the Korean government, the award was also retroactively authorized to every unit of the United States Army which had deployed to Korea between 1950 and 1954.”

For people reading these posts for the first time I want to give you a brief history about the reason I started this Blog, and where it will go from here. After the NPRC (National Personnel Records Center) informed me about the fire in 1976 where all my (Army) military records burned in the fire, all my records burned to ashes, nothing left that could be used to prove that I serve in the army of the United States of America. In the letter they asked me to sent anything that would show the posts, in the states, Japan and Korea, and the company I served in and when I served in combat. The concern is for my Army records, my Naval Reserve records is intact and I have received copies for my Personnel Files.

In my effort to gather information I learned how important the various documents are when a veteran apply for benefits or burial! And the key document needed to make application for anything from the VA (Veteran Administration) is your DD214. Next you need to prove that you received an Honorable Discharge from the military, easy enough because I had a copy of my DD214, but was not sure about my Discharge. After rambling though files for the better part of three months I found my Discharge and a record showing that I went to Cuyahoga County in Cleveland and had a copy of my Discharge recorded and put on file for future needs for when a fire or some other disaster. Still missing is the letter from Gen. William Westmoreland and my Jump Masters certificate (the original, not copies of both). My detective work tells me that I left some important papers in a brown briefcase in the trunk of a rental car, turned the car in and never missed the briefcase because I had stop caring a Briefcase to work and just forgot about it in the trunk of the car. The shock to everyone, I mean disbelief, because in this city, indeed in this county we return things or report them to the press so that they get back to the rightful owner. The News Herald news paper made a copy of the article that they published using the letter and the other information I submitted to them after my appointed to do some work that involved the veterans in Lake County. However after over fifteen years they discarded the information I submitted. My search will continue, I believe I will find copies of all my military documents in the next month or prove that I earned them.

As the quoted information from Wikipedia states the Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation rewarded retroactively to every unit of the United States Army which had deployed to Korea between 1950 and 1954. Normally you would be authorized to wear a Unit Citation if you are servicing in the unit, when you leave that unit you could not wear it on your uniform unless you served with that unit, when they awarded Citation  . These medals, ribbons, badges and citations tell a lot about the service, the type of unit, plus the locations the military places your unit, and how well your unit completed the mission. Just be aware the decorations you earned mean a lot, especially if you apply for business opportunities, benefits and burial. I am talking to some people employed at the VA that did not serve in the military and some time is not aware of the importance places, decorations, injuries and wounds. A veteran can get classified higher or lower based on service medals received by servicing in the military.

This is the last decorations that is not on your DD214,  any missing, you need to upgrade them or apply for them if you have not received them.

8 Responses to “President Unit Citation (Korea)”

  1. Top said

    The Korean War Veterans Association believes that when the Korean War veterans Memorial was dedicated in 1992in Washington DC the President of South Korea was handing this citation ribbon to all “korean veterans” present. There-fore they feel they are authorized to wear it. One chapter #299 KVA has a color guard that wear them ,one of the members of it is an associate member never served in Korea. The others served on the DMZ. The officers and directors of the Korean War Veterans Association condone this. Which it is a disgrace to all of us who earned it.
    The real Korean War Veterans.

    • DON CARLOS said

      GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT TOP.
      THE KOREAN PRESIDENTIAL UNIT CITATION WAS ALSO AWARDED TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE 7TH INF DIV IN 1971 BY THE PRESIDENT OF S.KOREA WHEN THE DIVISION LEFT KOREA. THE AWARD WAS RETROACTIVE FOR ALL MEMBERS OF THE 7TH INF DIVISION.
      I SERVED IN THE 2/8TH ARTY,7th INF DIVISION, KOREA, DURING 1968-69.
      A LETTER SENT TO ST.LOUIS CONFIRMED I WAS ELIGIBLE FOR THE KPUC, AND WAS AUTHORIZED TO WEAR IT.
      BEING A NON U.S. MILLITARY AWARD,THE LETTER STATED THAT I HAD TO BUY IT.

      • tom said

        I was also there 1968-69, next door at the 4/76 Arty A battery , I was told we get that one and a korea Def. pin of some sort.

      • don carlos said

        Hi Tom,
        I also served in your sister battalion, the 2/76 arty, I Corps ( 8″ track howitzers ) located in Camp Santa Barbara for 3 months before being transfered to 2/8 arty,7th Inf Div.

  2. I served with Lrsd from 99 to 2000 and never even heard of the citation and would like to know I am I authorized to wear the citation because some of the soldiers that served from that same time frame are wearing them and something about it was authorized in 1999.

  3. George Covel said

    I have been having a disagreement with several of my KWVA buddies. When I was discharged from the army, I joined the National Guard. I wore the Korean Presidential Unit Citation on my left breast immediately below all the other decorations I was wearing. I was informed that that was the right way to wear it. Now I am told by a know-it-all in the chapter that that is wrong, that it is to be worn on the right breast? Does anybody out there know which is correct?

  4. DON CARLOS said

    The KPUC is worn on the right breast.
    The KPUC was last issued in 1971 .
    In 1999 the U.S.government authorized the wear of the Korean War Service Medal, first offered by the Korean government during the Korean War, is awarded to those U S forces that actually served in Korea from 25 June 1950 – 27 July 1953. It’s design is similar to the KPUC but has different colors.
    Also offered( circa 1970) to the US by Korea, is the Korean Service Medal. This medal was accepted by the commanding general of US forces,but rejected by the Department of Defense in 1972 or 3.
    The Korean Defense Service Medal was issued by the U.S. Government in 2003 retroactively for post armistice service in Korea from 27,1954 July to a date to be determined.
    All those that served in Korea are authorized the Korean Defense Medal. Only active duty personnel, whose currently assigned unit had been awarded the KPUC or those who were awarded it by their service, are authorized to wear it.

  5. Major Earth Changes…

    […]President Unit Citation (Korea) « Truth Lies and Character[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
