Truth Lies and Character

Embrace the truth, reject lies and edify character as an excellent virtue.

3 Nights: in Veteran Hospital

Posted by James Jett on September 6, 2007


On Friday 24 August 2007, I went to the Urgent Care Unit at the LOUIS STOKES CLEVELAND DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS MEDICAL CENTER, or the Emergency Room, because of pressure in my Chest. I worked, outside in the garden on Wednesday in 91 degree heats and stayed inside all day the next day working on the computer. All day Thursday I had a tired feeling — a feeling like you have when you stay to long in the Hot Sun. Otherwise, I felt fine all day on Thursday. Friday morning I had scheduled computer work in the morning and back to the yard and garden that afternoon, but around 10:am I started to feel the pressure in my chest and my left arm a little stiff at times, and when I walked. It seems I was going to misstep or stagger. A problem I have when I smell something I am allergy to, like plant spray. Well: down stairs in the bathroom the showers have been removed and nothing is left but the drain hole and the strainer, so the sewer gases can get into the house if the waters in the trap get low. That had occurred in the garage when the water in the trap dried from the long hot summer without any rain. No one washes cars inside doing the summer so no water goes down the drain! This, I realized is a part of my health problem, and being out in the 91 degrees weather, two days ago was the major reason for my discomforts and if it doesn’t get better in the next hour I am going to the emergency.

I arrived at the hospital and went to check in as if I had an appointment and told the lady why I wanted to see a doctor and she told me to go to Urgent Care, when I got to the door someone met me with a wheel chair and asked “are you nurse-red” I almost answer no but before I did he said “are you having chest pains, get in the chair I take you in.” Once in on a bed they start doing the thing they do when someone comes in with chest pain or pressure. Len hooked me to the monitor and stated that Dr. Miller will see me soon! Because I was thinking about the other three times, I had been to an emergency I recalled it was Dr. Miller in Korea that said I am going to Evac you when I got injured in Korea. , No, it couldn’t be the same Dr. Miller that serve with me in Korea because he died, maybe three or four years ago? After reviewing all the information the doctor told me he was sure I didn’t have a problem with my heart but since I had pressure they would admit me for some other tests, so I ended up in the hospital!

Len took me up to the second floor, to my room and the people in the nursing unit took over and continued giving me yeoman care with concern. For the first time since I arrived at the hospital I could see outside and notice that black-night was falling, then I remembered I had not eaten since lunch. Already the nurse was trying to get food for me and get the tasks done that would aid in improving my health. That is why I am convinced that these people know what they are doing as far as the job assignments, they have been trained and given the information about the hospital that benefits the patients and the walk-ins. Because I needed to walk around the building to get the exercise, I needed to report my condition to the medical personnel; Each day I talked with the people cleaning the bathrooms and the building, all seem to know their jobs and did them with concern. One man on the elevator said “I’m proud to be apart of this building and its operation, it is time we got something.” Making sure I knew where to go to get the stress test I stopped by one of the VSOs or Veteran Service Organization and asked “where do I go to get a stress test” and he knew the exact direction, without “missing a beat.” After I finished the test and started back to my room I passed a unit, or an office: I didn’t look at the sign on the front, walking with my heart monitor in my hand, a young lady came out and ask me if I needed help and offered to take me to my room in a wheel chair. I explained that I had just taken a stress test and I feel fine, in fact I scored 93 on the test. Well Sarah (if I remember her name correctly) walked me to the Nurse’s station, while explaining that I was stubborn like her Father, then returned back to her duties. What concern for the patients!

At this stage in my life I am working hard — well, maybe I should say I am working smart and hard because my tasks require both physical and mental abilities. Therefore my health is very important to me that is why I payed so much attention to the care the medical staff provided. I did not see anything poorly done, but I was not looking for poor quality in any of the services I was provide, so I am reporting all good news: from here. Well just one compliant, If the VA can provide all the rooms with televisions I am positive they can provide for internet connection for a small added cost, I needed to pay bills and one of the payments went to the VA, yet the connection was so low I could not connect to the sites.

5 Responses to “3 Nights: in Veteran Hospital”

  1. opit said

    Informed Voters runs a companion blog with medical concerns – mostly CFIDS. I carry a few links myself (not just a joke – the sidebar is what I mean ) St Louis Vets are up. BlueGirlRedState (Global Citizen ) is a medical researcher/instructor with forces sympathies. And a vet blog or two. I suspect it wouldn’t hurt you to bone up on allergies and diet.

  2. James Jett said

    Opit:
    Any factual information that will aid in maintains ones health is a benefit, but we (the doctors, the people administering the tests and me ) seem to have everything under control. What I should bone up on is scheduling my outside work, when the temperature is over 90 degrees.

  3. opit said

    The Opit stands for Oldephartteintraining – give it a moment – so you’ll understand I mean it when I say I sympathize.

  4. James Jett said

    Opit:
    Thanks, but I am ahead of you on this one, I knew once I clicked on your Blog sites. I file these under: “it takes one to know one” with an ear-to-ear grin

  5. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any approach you’ll be able to take away me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
