Truth Lies and Character

Embrace the truth, reject lies and edify character as an excellent virtue.

Medical Records, Benefits:Hard to Get!

Posted by James Jett on June 7, 2008


Two days ago the electricity shut down blanketing the North East area of Ohio. Power was off for at least five hours and was back on at 2.27pm as promised. Neighbors on this street, including me, first surmised it was just the house where they lived.  With both a Desktop and a Laptop computer, I was not able to get on the internet. I could not go on line and look up information, nor could I look for information about Record Retention and stored medical records from decease doctors and hospitals and clinics that have long since closed their doors.

With no place to look I made a list of offices to call and ask them who I should talk with to find the medical records that the VA or Veterans Administration asked me to submit to support my claims. First, I wanted  to go to the Stokes VA Medical Center in Cleveland OH because there I would find the VSO or Veterans Service Office offices that deal with this problem every day.  When I got started on this quest for medical records today, I decided to call the Ohio Medical Board and went to the web site to get a name or number and contact someone about records retention and medical records’ storage. On that site I did not see a number to call so I move to the site of the Attorney General of Ohio where I found a number, dial it and talked to a lady she said the Ohio Medical Board would be my best bet, that is when I knew I should go to the Stokes VA Medical Center in Cleveland, Ohio and talk with some VSO officers, a person that deals with these problems daily.  There I will get help with my problem. My concern now, what if I fail to locate the records, will my claims be denied for like of support? Where do I go from here, I will ask for the answers to this question Monday?

Yesterday I called the Department of Veterans Affairs to make sure I am represented by The American Legion as my Clamant’s Representative, at first she said it is not on the screen, but later it appeared on the screen. In the conversation she stated with emphasis that it takes from six months to a year to get your pension or compensation started and that’s from the time it is received in that office. Which do not include the time it takes to receive it and get it in the hands of the responsible person? Now I understand why it takes up to twenty-four months (some times more) for some veterans to receive any benefits. Then I told her that my claims were processed by The Tiger Team and she said “I am noting that on here now, they are working on your claim!”Another point, the VA tells you that you can receive Compensation or a Pension, but not both at the same time. You will receive the one that pays more to the veteran, but I told her that I had to make sure I am qualified for both, or that in my case is not true. Further more, if you are receiving a pension you have no way of knowing how much you will receive in Compensation unil you are Rated by the Rating Board, only then they know which will pay the most. My point, make sure you are claiming everything you are qualified for so you can be paid the highs benefits of the two plans.

4 Responses to “Medical Records, Benefits:Hard to Get!”

  1. john said

    This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

  2. pres said

    I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites web page list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my site as well and let me know what you think.

  3. Much quicker, better reception and now “Field Test Mode” is back! Exchange email flies now and no l onger sits in the outbox waiting for me to send it again; bugs fixed. My 3GS is as fast as it used to be before I updated to OS4.I have both a 3G and 3GS and the blatant disregard that Apple has been showing this last year for anyone for 2010 product owners has me more than halfway convinced that it may be time to drop Apple and their products altogether.ryszar Man, people are really offended when you make a suggestion, If so they whats the point of having a blog like this . . . . FOR ALL THE KNOW-IT-ALLS? Then again maybe it”s just iOS 4.2 IMMINENT RELEASE Making people crazy.

  4. James Jett said

    Roselia Vittum
    Thank you, I am editing and updating as time permit.
    James Jett

Leave a Reply

 
