Truth Lies and Character

Embrace the truth, reject lies and edify character as an excellent virtue.

Correcting Errors, Getting Records, Will it Improve? WHEN?

Posted by James Jett on January 25, 2010


If you applied for benefits or service from the Veterans Administration anytime in the pass and you are still waiting, for the next second fill good about it, because you are a Veteran, treated like all the rest of us. Just to cover one person, I have two Honorable Discharges and volunteered for combat with the 187th Airborne, in the Korean War, yet for the last five years, the VA (Veterans Administrations) has sometime treated me like a dog. In fact, when I discuss with my associates, the treatment veterans receive, compare  it with animals, there is more restriction and delays in treating veterans than treating pets. When I look at my personal records, the only branch I give an A+, to, is all the nurses and doctors in the examination and  treatment process.  And yes, I include all the supporting staff involved in the treatment process. Why such high rating? When I receive yeoman treatment, I am not afraid to report it!
When I took my stress test ordered by my private doctor, the doctor overseeing the test told me he had given a couple of the Cleveland Brown players the same test. About two years later I took my stress test at the VA Medical Center. Both, the private and the VA Test show that I am in good health.
Where I have suffered, and I do mean suffered, is getting my records, and application for benefits being delayed or denied because I cannot get my  records, both personal and medical. More than fifty years ago I asked for my medical records and  they told me, they didn’t exist. About two years ago someone working on my claim read from a copy of my Army Medical Records. I applied for a copy and receive a form to fill out that would help in conducting a search for my Army Medical Records. I ask for my Navel Reserve records received them in two weeks. Now I have a medical record that proves I had no problem with my eyes when I enlisted in the Army Airborne and served three years and four days.
As I lived my life, seeing  my doctors and using the hospital when needed, things begin to go wrong. Someone, or some group or team of persons has decided to ether do me harm or cost me money by making sure I do not receive my benefits.
Examples, I had to pay $500. for three nights’ stay in the hospital because someone changed my records or send in incorrect information to Atlanta, GA. Before I could get that corrected, someone changed or deleted information from my records, that showed that I had served in the Naval Reserve two years, and the Army three years including combat in the Korean War. All this information on a copy of my DD-214 that everyone must send before they can receive treatment at a VA hospital.
When I reported for my follow-up, after my stay in the hospital, they told me I was not eligible to receive treatment at that hospital. I immediately went to the Eligibility Officer’s office and she told me to talk with Patient Representative. At the Stokes VA Medical Center, everyone including the Veteran Organizations told me that this woman is the Apex, and knows what a veteran should do to get medical service they need. Next, I went to see a Patient Representative and immediately, he started the process to get my files back in the systems. Twice, I have met with a Patient Representative and they prove that they are ready to help a veteran. My hospital medical records have been restored, and again, I can go to a VA medical facility any place in the world and receive treatment for my health needs.

2 Responses to “Correcting Errors, Getting Records, Will it Improve? WHEN?”

  1. […] your Records? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Benefits, Pension and CompensationsDental […]

  2. Some truly marvellous work on behalf of the owner of this site, absolutely great subject material .

Leave a Reply

 
